Gravity (2013)


Gravity (2013)I first saw a teaser trailer for Gravity (2013) before The Great Gatsby (2013) was about to start. I thought by what I saw I knew the plot was a bit self-explanatory, two astronauts are floating in space after a disaster hits them. Why would I need to turn up and watch what I knew was going to be obvious. That’s how I felt until a week ago, even with the positive reviews and incredible box-office receipts in the U.S. why would I watch that. My mind was finally changed when I was about to begin watching Captain Phillips (2013) the theatrical trailer revealed far more, and pulled me in, making up my mind instantly.

Knowing very little of the plot beyond the trailer I viewed Gravity with a clear mind I slipped on my 3D glasses and joined the crew of the Explorer carrying out a routine mission which had more technical problems than anything on the vessel opened up for Ryan Stone (Sandra Bullock) to work on, whilst Matt Kowalski (George Clooney) was circling around the Explorer as the work was carried out. All very routine until word from Houston control (Ed Harris) warned of a debris field that could head their way, an outside chance at best after the Russians blew up one of their satellites. Things soon change and debris is soon heading their way.

All this in the first few minutes, where the audience is drawn into the immersive world above in the heavens. At first there is just the open expanse of nothing but space, faint voices on the radio. I wondered if someone had left their phone on, I was soon corrected as we drifted into the operations of the Explorer. Floating alongside the crew, even having their incredible views of mother Earth below, a constant feature of the film.

Short in length, it feels far longer than it’s running time, packed with tension from the first mention of debris heading their way. It’s actions stations and survival mode for the two survivors, it feels real as the cold hard realities of space are laid bare. For Stone she has to learn to cope with her possible death alone in space, learning to stay calm under pressure and rise to the challenge of the situation which throws up obstacles for her to get over. Whilst Kowalski (Clooney) is an easy-going guy who can crack a joke and tell the same story over and over. He’s been in space too long to be scared of it. They struggle together to survive against the odds that space throws at them.

You never know who and if they make it back to earth, through incredible twists and turns in the emptiness of space. The trailer gives only a blurred taste of what really is going to happen. Discussing the fragility of life and how to make the most of it. Whilst also lightly mentioning the field of rubbish that is in the atmosphere of Earth, created by dead satellites that fill the space above. The possible future of space missions and the added dangers not just from space but man, laid in place years before. 3D is indeed the format to view this film to its full potential, to be in space with them, and not trapped behind what the 2D presentation might present you.

2 responses

  1. Nice review, I was blown away by this film and wrote a review if you want to read my thoughts.

    January 11, 2015 at 8:37 pm

    • Cheers mate, I’ll take a look

      January 11, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

