An Idea or just a thought?


I watched this short interview with the director Anthony Mann with a focus on his westerns with James Stewart which I would like to revisit myself, not fully aware of their power or influence in the genre and film. That’s another post or two for the future.

I was stopped in my tracks from 8.03 – 8.25 when he mentions the great stories being laid in the west

you can take any of the great dramas, doesn’t matter if its Greek plays or whatever, you can always lay then in the west and they somehow come alive and this kind of passion and drama you can have patricide every kind of cide in a western and you can get away with it, it’s where all action took place

Anthony Mann

This has really struck a chord with me. I don’t know if it’s the start of another piece of work, it feels very early to say that. Or is it just a thought, a great connection from one text to a genre which I love so much.

I have ideas of adapting a play of Shakespeare’s into the West, in screenplay form. Or even building the sets for a theatre production, documenting them, or having a stage play. I’m not a writer really, the reviews are a search for ideas and enjoyment of film. To really write takes talent which writers have. Thinking about it, the theatre sets is one step I could easily make, I could build the stage with simple mechanics.

Again its too early really to say where and if it goes beyond the quote. Until then enjoy the interview, any ideas would be welcome.

4 responses

  1. Great post! You might be interested in a Shakespeare rendition of King Lear which features Patrick Stewart and the setting is Texas from 2002. It’s called befittingly King of Texas 😉

    March 25, 2014 at 2:15 am

    • Cheers Cindy, I’ll check that one out.

      March 25, 2014 at 10:49 am

  2. Art and Inspiration have a Life – a source of their own. We can be it’s unique vehicle. Start a spark – and watch it suddenly burst into flame – a torrent – but don’t try to control it! Ride it! You don’t know where it might want to go …

    April 1, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    • Nicely put. I was chatting to a friend in my studio, and a comic book idea came out of it. so that could be the end result, you never know.

      April 1, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Leave a Reply

