Haywire (2011)


Haywire (2011)I was expecting more from this spy thriller than I actually got. With a decent cast too I thought I would be impressed. Sadly even in the hands of Steven Soderbergh who has turned his hand to nearly every genre. It’s true that Haywire (2011) is slick and clever as we follow the contracted ex-marine Mallory Kane (Gina Carano) who after carrying out a job for the government is on the run. But why is she on the run. To be honest I don’t care really.

As clever as the script is, trying to improve on Lucky Number Slevin (2006) which both are influenced by Quentin Tarantino who is the man to look up to when it comes to clever scripts. This as good as it looks just falls down, It’s hard to put my finger on why. On the surface for me I just don’t care for the characters, well except the guy who gets caught up in all this crazy s***. Going back to the script it felt too predictable to really care what happens, I knew that she was being double crossed very early on. 

Even with a cast that boasts Ewan McGregorMichael Douglas and Michael Fassbender I wanted, no demanded more. I feel this was the Counsellor (2013) of 2011 just a disappointment from a respected director.

The fight scenes with Gina Carano are what make and break this film, starting off exciting, not knowing where they’ll go, but in the end, she’s beaten a guy to a pulp and off she walks more angry than ever because one is talking to her, well if you left them to talk before you shut them up, you wouldn’t be in this situation. Sorry just frustrated this boring ‘thriller’ that used fight scenes to pad out a short film to extend it from 45 minutes to a feature length.

I wish I could write more about this film, I was in two minds to do this in the first place but here I am summing up a boring, predictable and lacklustre film, that will do no damage to anyones career, just being ignored as a misadventure.

Related Articles

4 responses

  1. Good review, and missed this, but based upon your review, probably will pass!

    April 14, 2014 at 12:15 am

    • I wish I could say otherwise but it was just not the best thing from a top director.

      April 14, 2014 at 9:45 am

  2. Good review Tim. Soderbergh really seemed to playing around with the idea of a thriller here and it worked. Maybe the casting of Gina Carano didn’t, but I guess he got the type of thriller he wanted out of her. Just not the acting.

    April 14, 2014 at 12:33 am

    • Thanks Dan, It just felt, well below par for most of the guys.

      April 14, 2014 at 9:45 am

Leave a Reply

