2014 – A Year in Review


2014 has been my second full year as a practising artist which has seen me being included in 10 shows, building on and beating my record for 2013. I hope to meet that if not exceed that by having more than 10 or less of equal strength.

I recently received an email that had both good and bad news regarding a submission for a show. I don’t usually share this unless it has been successful. I sadly didn’t make it into the show, instead told that a piece of mine was accomplished. That’s quite a compliment for me, usually seeing children interacting with my work as the highest compliment. However this one shows that I have taken the right path, to have an idea, to test it, and keep going until it works.

I’ve long accepted that my work is rooted in the western genre, it’s a fact of a my practice that two go hand in hand, this year exploring the river-road in Ilkeston this summer. I am in my element when I am making and sharing that process with the public, inspiring them to make and engage with art. As I learnt a few years ago that cardboard is a valid material, so is the public, not just from my work there are other artist who are having success working in this medium. A material that is easily accessible, recyclable and important to my practice as much as westerns.

I started to revisit films that I originally thought little off, this series has grown slowly over the year to change my mind and in some cases open it to the power of film. It is showing how I have matured even over a few years. My understand of the western genre is expanding, seeing it more as the “myth of conquest” a term that more sums up a century of dramatic change in America which has a hold on me. I have a few titles that I am still looking to revisit both old and more recent.

I may have more shows this year, I have produced less work, due in part to my paid employment that allows me to continue to make, all until things go in the other direction. I have nonetheless discovered again what makes my work truly my work, the main ingredients of the pieces I make by hand. I have also started to look more at the fabric of film, picking up on conventions which I feel sometimes need correcting. There’s nothing on the horizon just yet, not know where the next idea will come from.

My current work which will continue into 2015 will move back into the studio where I will get out the lights and the camera to be filmed. My models have taken on a radical change which I am hoping to adopt in the long term. A massive shift from cardboard to balsa to create more intricate pieces. With this piece still very much in the making I am already thinking of the next piece that will focus on the Iron horse of the western genre, where it will go, the form it will take I have no idea. I can’t wait to see what happens for that piece and the rest of 2015.

A happy and prosperous new year to you all!

4 responses

  1. Look forward to more of your work, a happy new year to you.

    December 30, 2014 at 12:14 pm

    • Cheers mate, and a happy new year to you.

      December 30, 2014 at 6:59 pm

  2. Have a great 2015, Tim!

    December 30, 2014 at 9:51 pm

    • Cheers Richard and you too

      December 31, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Leave a Reply

