London Trip (4/7/15) Part1


It’s been a few months since my last gallery gorge so I’ve headed back down to London, and taken my sister around some galleries to see what’s on offer and hoping to find some work that will inform my practice. I didn’t have to wait long coming to my first of the day at the Alan Cristea Gallery which was exhibiting the last few years body of work by Julian Opie: Editions 2012 – 2015. Now I wasn’t really expecting to find any inspiration from this Y.B.A. whose work is completely different to my own. However with all the Lenticular acrylic panels (flat holograms) I was met by a piece in the next room Walking in the City (2013) a line of individual sculptures which are figures on their daily commute, classical in design and very much Opie’s style.

The way they inform my work is an idea for a western that will be truly my own, and this could be a way of representing the characters within that world. There may be multiples to suggest movement if I go down the animation route, the design is also very simple and stylized which does conform with my of visual style and code which could be adapted or inspire something new.

2 responses

  1. That looks great.

    July 10, 2015 at 11:53 pm

    • Cheers, since that show my idea for my own little western has had a radical idea of sorts.

      July 11, 2015 at 10:55 am

Leave a Reply

