The Revenant – looks very familiar


It’s not just me who has seen the teaser trailer today for Leonardo DiCaprio‘s and director Alejandro González Iñárritu who scooped up best picture and director at the Oscars last year for Birdman earlier this year. I’ve been aware of The Revenant (2015) for a few months, the plot outlines stinks of a blatant remake with a different name and a twist on an earlier Richard Harris and John Huston film Man of the Wilderness (1971) which is in a very different tone at least to the trailer, It does however visually look the same to the older neo-Western that is an incredible film that relies more on action and acting than dialogue which is kept to a minimum.

It’s to early to tell really from this teaser trailer, there is a bear in both and they are left to survive in earlier America with Native American’s, I’m not too sure there’s going to be a boat being wheeled around this time somehow. The only other question is, will this be DiCaprio’s year at the awards?

13 responses

  1. Lots of feelings about this. Firstly, I’m always happy to see ANY Western being made. Especially with big name box office draw. Good for Leo – always trying to do something different. Looks to be visually excellent.
    Birdman? Yeah yeah … very well done. But I will be disinclined to watch it again any time soon. Goes to show that most Oscar winning movies do not become Classics.

    July 18, 2015 at 4:27 am

    • I personally enjoyed Birdman, to me it was fresh and clever at a time of so many comic book films, so I would definitely watch again. I’ll still see Revenant, just interesting how they turn to a classic idea again.

      July 18, 2015 at 11:18 am

  2. Hey Tim,

    I coulda swore U did a review of “Man in the Wildnerness”? I wanted to do a re-post on it to my Blog. But I guess was a different man in “A Man called Horse”
    .
    Cheers !

    November 30, 2015 at 7:59 pm

    • No sadly I didn’t was mesmirized by it though. Yes I reviewed two of the Man called Horse films. Man of the Wilderness had stayed with more though which is strange.

      November 30, 2015 at 8:12 pm

  3. Hollywood cant come up with a new idea if all their lives depended on it..A remake no matter how you look at it.Man Called Horse was a classic imho.A time when movei makers didnt have CGI and the actors actually acted…..

    December 19, 2015 at 12:39 am

    • I think Hollywood has original ideas, just look at the TV output, its varied, exciting and addictive. Their film output is sadly based on built in audiences, franchises that are sure to make money. If you want something Original you have to go Indie to get something fresher. Thanks for the comment Michael.

      December 19, 2015 at 4:18 pm

  4. I saw the trailer for this recently and it piqued my interest. It does look like a remake of sorts, but we’ll see.

    December 19, 2015 at 11:59 pm

    • yeah I felt the same to be honest, It needs to be seen to know if its a blatant remake or a new spin on another novel of the same event.

      December 20, 2015 at 11:47 am

    • It’s the same story of the frontiersman Hugh Glass who was mauled by a Grizzly and left for dead. But by different authors. And I see elements that didn’t occur in the true story – such as the advent of his son being present. In other words, they’ve typically changed things. It will likely be a pretty good movie – but not historically accurate.

      December 20, 2015 at 3:28 pm

      • Be interesting to see the Father-Son dynamic. I don’t think Fact will last long in the film. Very common as we know with Westerns.

        December 20, 2015 at 3:50 pm

      • Thanks, that’s very interesting.
        Personally, I can live with the taking of factual liberties so long as we get a good movie.

        December 20, 2015 at 4:40 pm

      • For me that’s what makes a film worth watching if you can take the facts and blow them up into something both entertaining with a little bit of learning. Creative licence I guess.

        December 20, 2015 at 8:29 pm

      • Absolutely!

        December 20, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Leave a Reply

