Yoram Wolberger


Having not being in the studio today my mind has been preoccupied with my work, Turning to research ahead of my time in the studio tomorrow when I want to make a few more burial scaffolding’s, maybe a fire and cooking tripod (not sure of correct term) also a few bare teepees as well. I’ve decided to make more pieces for the Native Americans because it makes sense to really. They are the focus of the piece and have very little in the way of accessories when it comes to the play set’s so I need to make more.

I also came across an artist who reminds me of Jeff Koons – Yoram Wolberger who blows these toy figures up to full-scale, not just cowboys and Indians but anything that is plastic, flimsy and mass-produced.

Wolberger emphasizes the distortions of their original manufacture disallowing any real illusion and conceptually forcing the viewer to reconsider their meanings. When enlarged beyond any possibility of dismissal, we see that toy soldiers create lines between Us and Them, plastic cowboys and Indians marginalize and stereotype the Other, even wedding cake bride and groom figurines dictate our expected gender roles.

http://www.markmooregallery.com

It’s not too far from my thinking with this piece, instead of hitting you head on with their production quality, instead I want to blow away the cliché or use it to break it down, to see how the images of the classic western have engrained the image of a distorted history that the mass audience sees. The Native American is clearly the victim and has rarely been given the time to fight back and live in peace.

Wolberger’s pieces allow us to see a stereotype that can be broken down. He’s looking at how the plastic is ultimately flesh and blood before a desired image’s imprinted upon it.  I like the finish of the pieces, leaving on the rough edges from the 2 part-mould which would have produced these figures, showing how the image unpolished image that w desire is just a construction.

 

 

5 responses

  1. I was really picky about my miniatures. I had hundreds, but I didn’t just buy anything. Herald Swoppets were my favorites. High quality. But expensive. They did outstanding Medieval Knights and some good Western figures. Sadly somebody else has taken over the company and the quality seems to have gone down. But you can still get the old stuff I believe. I never thought about designing any myself. I studied sculpture so I think I would have been good at it.

    October 4, 2015 at 6:36 pm

    • Yeah you shouldn’t definitely have a go at making your own. That way they’ll be a standard you love and get more out of them too.

      October 4, 2015 at 6:38 pm

  2. Pingback: Whilst in London… | Tim Neath - Visual Artist

  3. Thanks for this interesting post!

    February 25, 2016 at 12:11 pm

    • Your welcome,

      February 25, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

