2015 in Review


I should have done the earlier this week or later last year. However there’s no time like the present to reflect on the last year of my practice which has changed over the course of the last 12 months. At the start of the year I wanted to have even more shows than 2014. That didn’t happen as my life changed, having to work full-time I haven’t been able to produce as much work as before. This isn’t a negative as I have seen this as a chance to focus longer on a piece of work.

I’ve produced a number of quick and slow pieces. This worked well for me. Building on older pieces experimenting with light before turning to having fun with Paul Thomas Anderson’s work which took most of the summer months to produce. I have been able to produce longer videos – Iron Horse of the Studio and my current work in progress that is my attempt at rewriting the Western genre, a comment also on history and American politics, an outsider looking in on the genre. It’s still very much in development and I am wearing to get animating later this month. Only a few more animation and lighting tests before I begin. Its finding its on feet and taking on a life of its own.

Future ideas are still locked away, waiting to be unleashed, some I feel will take longer. I need to return to past pieces to see how I can build on them. My work on one level film-fan art which I have to accept, on another you can see more potential and lots of fun. In terms of shows I have found a new balance of making work one year to be exhibited the following. Allowing me to focus more on the concept for longer to produce stronger work.

I wish you all a happy New year and all the best for the coming months. To my fellow bloggers, keep up the great work I have seen some amazing work, some great film reviews which have inspired me to write stronger pieces. Giving me the inspiration to produce and maintain a stronger body of blog posts.

Tim Neath

4 responses

  1. Happy new year, Tim!

    January 1, 2016 at 11:53 am

    • Happy New Year to you too Richard

      January 1, 2016 at 12:29 pm

  2. To the Future Tim !
    Tipping a glass to Ye !

    January 6, 2016 at 4:22 pm

    • cheers my friend and the same to you.

      January 6, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

