The Magnificent Seven (2016) trailer thoughts


I’ve kept pretty quiet so far when it came to the remake of The Magnificent Seven (2016) which I will be doing until I sit down and see it for myself. Looking at the trailer, they tone of the film is pretty light on dialogue and heavier on actions. The casting looks OK too.

Of course the real test is if it will stand up to the original 1960 film Steve McQueen not the sequels. Very little has been given away so far apart from the making of the seven lead by Denzel Washington which is a good strong choice and will really spice things up. I’ll be looking out for it around its release of 23rd September in the UK. I am wary when it comes to remakes that are of classics that have not been considered for decades this maybe an exception.

Let me know what you think.

 

6 responses

  1. Well … as I’ve said … it’s almost suicide. You CAN’T duplicate the original cast. Nearly every one of the original Seven became major Movie Stars – if they weren’t already. The Star Power was immense. It will take some brilliant writing to pull this off.
    This doesn’t mean it will be a bad movie – just that it’s inevitably going to compared to the original.

    April 21, 2016 at 2:07 am

    • Some of the actors are already established in this one, the rest, I’m not too familiar with. There is a writing credit for Akira Kurosawa which “shows” a strong link to the original. Its a hard act to follow for sure.

      April 21, 2016 at 7:12 pm

  2. Well, I feel like a bit of a traitor just watching the trailer of the 2016 remake but in all honesty, I’ll probably end up watching it anyway. For me ‘the’ Seven will always be Yul Brynner, Steve McQueen et al. But, I may yet be surprised. Some decent westerns have come out in the last few years so here’s hoping for another one. So…only one thing to do – watch it 😉

    April 23, 2016 at 10:55 am

    • The original will always be a hard act to follow, nostalgia is a hard thing to beat. Yes we are really lucky to have some decent westerns, do you think we are entering another golden age or revival?

      April 23, 2016 at 5:32 pm

      • Ah…I wish. There is something so special about Westerns. And, not all remakes are bad I think…there are the few that make the cut.

        April 23, 2016 at 7:49 pm

      • Yeah I can’t put my finger on what it is myself, I think they get to the inner kid in me. I felt that the 3:10 to Yuma remake definitely built on the original.

        April 23, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Leave a Reply

