Acting Alone


Every since my performance at the weekend at ImpFest (2016) I have been considering my next performance. Do I want to repeat that one at a later date, more than likely. I have another postcard piece – Out of Curiosity (2016) which consists of around 60+ postcards which involves a male and female character. Looking forward to a more ambitious idea for a new piece looks beyond the postcards replacing dialogue for a single scene from a film. I would like to look at acting out a whole film, taking on the role of the predominant character in each scene. At the moment my heart is saying The Searchers (1956) which I would love to work with. I would ultimately have to make this piece over a long period of time. Considering a number of elements, a possible minimal set, costume, the dialogue which I would have to transcribe too. Would I also remove the postcard element to focus on the more performative element or have the two together which work well. It’s an exciting whilst at the same time a very daunting prospect. Whichever film I ultimately choose I will have lot to consider.

2 responses

  1. I recall similar projects to what you’re talking about. It’s an interesting process that often takes off in different (but usually better) directions that your original intention. The trick is to be open to that.
    It’s always bigger than us I’ve found.

    November 28, 2016 at 8:18 pm

    • Do you know what the similar projects were about? They may help with my research.

      November 29, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

