Painting the Town… Update (8/4/17)


Now this update comes with a public service announcement of sorts. I was hoping last week to continue in the studio, however my body, unbeknownst to me decided to tell me to stop. Not just slow down or take it easy, but a STOP. I have always wanted to keep busy, if it’s at the day job or in the studio or away from both. I forgot to give myself time to just relax and simply switch off from thinking and doing, which resulted in lots of sleep, catching a film – I decided not to review as that would require thinking. So please take time out for yourself once in a while.

Now today I feel more energized and have returned to the studio. I’ve made a strong start on my first internal model miniature. Deciding to keep the details loose as I have for the rest of my work, which works in part. Also its a larger model, even bigger than my older ones. I think working internally for now I have to stay larger as it’s all new to me. Taking a large box, cutting away a few sides and reinforcing before I began.

As you can see I’ve made a good start, with a bar and mirror and shelving behind, I want a painting on one side too. I have made a start on an upstairs too, needing that in place before the stairs are added. I need to spend time on them to ensure I have the right angle. I’ve also sliced up a tube for the base of a few tables. Lastly I want to make an upright piano. I could go on forever with making pieces for this, I think less is definitely more in this case, I could have a stage, but with restricted room I need to just have a few pieces to suggest its a saloon. Lastly I’ll have the classic saloon swinging door added, all before I start to paint. I’m going to keep some of the pieces loose for a few reasons, so I can paint everything evenly and that I can move objects around during projection for maximum effect.

Leave a Reply

