Archive for April 16, 2017

Painting the Town… Update (16/4/17)


I feel like I’m going through a lot of cardboard at the moment, it’s all material that’s been stashed away for just such a piece that requires so much of it. The saloon is really taking shape now with not just the detail but the addition of a ceiling too. I began the day working on the stairs, which in reflection maybe too wide at the bottom, however it’s not a big deal. I’ve added the bolsters (please correct me on that if I’m wrong) before I add the rail later. I also blocked off the top to suggest that a door leads off from the landing.

The biggest development was addition of a ceiling, which I was, well I am still concerned about in terms of how it will affect the projection. It may block out light and distort the image. I am going slightly over what was probably built for Unforgiven however I need to see this as a saloon, a location and a space that was filmed in and expand it.  It also has stairs which would/do lead up to another floor. At the moment the ceiling isn’t fixed and will remain that way until painting is complete, as posts will be going underneath to hold up. It will also prevent and even finish of paint.

The entrance has also been looked into, with the door now intruding into the piece. Whilst I have also made a start on the bay windows which I’ll be working on more next time. Lastly I’ve got the balsa out for the framing of the doors and windows. Soon it will all be about the detail before I get the paint out again. It’s come a long way in a few days, I’m sure I’ll be painting in no time and get the projector out to see how it all turns out.