Painting the Town… Update (21/5/17)


The last few weekends have seen me bring the saloon model miniature together, so it’s a solid white, ready to project against. I’ve been moving faster than I expected which is always good. With the model all but complete, the ceiling in place I decided to add the posts which I found at least two in the set itself. If anything they really are the finishing touch without bring too much detail. I’ve got the balance right. I just need to wait for them to fix in place before I prime and paint them.

I then moved on to prepare and edit new test videos, using footage from Unforgiven (1992), the final showdown, which was reduced to the reactions to gunfire. Which took less time to create than first thought. Surprisingly little gunfire goes off in this scene. I decided to slow down each of those reactions a few times. I’ll see how these all work once the last of the painting is over.

Lastly I made a start on the same scene from the Japanese remake Yurusarezaru mono (2013) which I didn’t find surprising that it contains more violence in the equivalent scene. I haven’t finished that test video that will be projected into the same model. It plays with the relationship between the two films  and the violence within them.

6 responses

  1. It’s coming along really nicely.

    May 21, 2017 at 7:49 pm

    • Thank you 🙂

      May 21, 2017 at 10:52 pm

      • Only a pleasure. I really enjoy watching your progress. Have an awesome day!

        May 22, 2017 at 6:22 am

      • Glad your enjoy the posts, I get so much pleasure from making it all.

        May 22, 2017 at 5:56 pm

  2. Little Bill Daggett: I don’t deserve this… to die like this. I was building a house.
    Will Munny: Deserve’s got nothin’ to do with it.
    Little Bill Daggett: I’ll see you in hell, William Munny.
    Will Munny: Yeah.

    I haven’t found many folks that have watched Yurusarezaru Mono. Not sure why?? I thought it was very good. I’m gonna watch it again sometime. Never seen it on TV either.

    May 27, 2017 at 12:52 am

    • Such a cold and blunt quote.
      I think it’s not well publicised, however I read about it first in a free newspaper and jumped on it. I guess its down to how it marketed. I find the relationship between Hollywood and Japan in terms of the Western, both very rich and easily translatable. Maybe we should tweet TV channels to show it.

      May 27, 2017 at 11:57 am

Leave a Reply

