Archive for June 11, 2017

Painting the Town… Update (11/6/17)


A welcome return to the studio today, another half weekend, but this time a mix of editing and making today which makes a nice change. First I can now share the last of my documentation from last Sunday. Now due to the length of the video I have refined it to just the slow motion speed that I believe is most effective. Any further tests or final pieces would potentially be at this speed of 25%, any slower and you just lose that feeling of shock to just waiting for impact and leaning towards Peckinpah which I don’t want.

The second test video was more of an indulgence piece, which dis allow me to use the camera to explore both videos as they projected onto the model miniature. It’s a bit jerky in places but you get an more of an exploration around the model. Again its only at 25% slow motion again.

I carried on the day makingĀ  a start on a new and larger model miniature of the same saloon, hoping to see how the images would look blown up. It will essentially be the same piece but almost twice as big. Using what cardboard I have, I’ve had to be creative, which always add another aesthetic to the model. I’ve already used strips of card to join larges pieces together, gum-tape will be used to reinforced and cover joins over. This will ultimately take longer to make die to the size, but shorter in a sense as I am just scaling up. I know how it looks so it will be pretty straight forward until I get get the paint out. I can’t share any images today as it’s not really in any shape to show anything. My instagram post in below though

The next stage is to just pull it all together, make and paint before projecting again.