Archive for June 17, 2017

Painting the Town… Update (17/6/17)


Even on one of the hottest days of the year I have been in the studio, which at times felt like an oven in my space, I think all the cardboard acts as an insulator. Anyway I decided to pull together all the parts I made a start on last time. Which were all going to start to construct this larger saloon. It was touch and go for a bit as the pieces were held by straps which until they were all fastened by more straps were wobbly at times. I persevered though and have now got a new saloon in the works.

Now its all about scaling up all of the elements and making it a strong model. I think whatever I project into the bigger the better really as it should have more presence than a tiny model. I love how this model is literally covered in the straps you can see my thinking that went into the making, its something I don’t want to hide, the illusion is on the other side.