Painting the Town… Update (3/7/17)


The detail is almost there now with this latest model miniature. Again I found working at this increased scale that the process was far easier, I spent just under 4 hours in the studio on Sunday and even less on the model, due to what I could really do pre-painting. I found the hardest part of the making process was the bay windows, due to the curvature of the bays I have placed a supporting piece behind before after a number of wasted pieces later I could fix the front piece that reached across the middle. Maybe next time I will have more breaks in the window. I could even look again the footage next time and amend that part of the model miniature. Even though it’s a small detail it matters to me to have a decent gesture to the set.

Moving onto the stairway which was far easier to pull together. The only downside is the rail at the top, doesn’t need flush to the wall, however its a minor detail, should I apply that thought process to the bay windows? Is the perfectionist in me coming out? The bigger the model is, the more open it is to be looked into, even though it functions in the dark.

Leave a Reply

