Painting the Town… Update (6/8/17)


I’ve had a busy few days so I decided today I would dedicate a good portion of the day to my work. A decision I am very happy with. The aim was to make a solid start on the furniture that sits against the walls. I feel that all but a few pieces have indeed been completed today.

Using my visual research I started on one side and began to work my way around the model miniature. Using the drawings on the walls as a basic frame for the model too, I began with a few pieces, most have 3 sides as they would be sit against the wall. It’s only in the case of shelving where I needed to reinforce a few to ensure they are as straight as possible. One of the shelves just gets by. However I like how it looks so I’m going to leave it as is.

Moving onto the kitchen section of Minnie’s haberdashery I realised early on into just considering what had to be made that they would be really hard to paint around, with shelving on the walls. it’s the only section which has proved problematic for me. So far I have made 2 false walls, which allows me during the making and painting process have everything in place and ensure even paint coverage. They will more than likely be painted with a mix of primer and acrylic paint.

I’ve made furniture as loose as I can and strongly linked to The Hateful Eight, it’s really detailed for me too, its only going to get more as I add tables and chairs, and two beds. The only issue I have is scale and representation compared to the full scale set in the film.

Leave a Reply

